Skip to main content

Roles and permissions

Roles in your Lightdash instance

  • Everybody in your organization will join as an Organization Member unless specified. For example, if I invite someone to a project as an editor, they will become an organization member with editor access to that project. If I invite someone to the organization as a viewer, then they will be an organization viewer (instead of an organization member).
  • All organization members can create their own projects and will be the Project Admin for that project.
  • Admins have access to all content (even content they haven't been explicitly invited to).

Project Roles

Project Admins can invite users to their project and assign users or groups to roles in that project. Note that projects may also be accessible by users with organization roles.

ActionProject AdminProject DeveloperProject EditorProject Interactive ViewerProject Viewer
View charts and dashboards
Export results visible in a chart to CSV
Export results visible in a chart to Google Sheets
Export results to CSV and override the limit
Export results to Google Sheets and override the limit
View comments
Create comments
Use the explorer
View underlying data
Create/edit scheduled deliveries
Create/edit Syncs
Create/edit charts and dashboards
Use the SQL runner
Manage project access and permissions
Delete project
Create project previews

Organization Roles

Organization Admins can assign roles to organization members, which gives access to all projects in the organization.

ActionOrganization AdminOrganization DeveloperOrganization EditorOrganization Interactive ViewerOrganization ViewerOrganization Member
Create Personal access tokens
View all projects
Create new projects
Create project previews***
Edit all projects
Admin for all projects
Invite users to organization
Manage organization access and permissions
info
Project previews created by Developers, Editors or Interactive Viewers will only copy spaces/charts/dashboards from the source project they have access to.

Space Roles

There are three space roles: Full Access, Can Edit, Can View

ActionFull AccessCan EditCan View
View space content
Manage space content
Manage space access
Manage space details

Users with Full Access to a space can restrict and increase a user’s inherited project permissions in a space (e.g. you can make project editors into can view in a space). Space permissions determine which users can edit space contents (charts and dashboards), view the contents in a space, and change a space's settings:

  • A user needs to have at least the Can view access level to a space to see that the space exists and to see the charts and dashboards inside it.
  • A user needs to have the Can edit access level to a space to edit the content in the space (add/delete/rename charts and dashboards).
  • A user needs to have the Full access access level to a space to manage access to the space and to edit the space details (name, description, etc.).

Space permissions don't otherwise control what users can do, or which data they can use to build their own content.

This means:

  • a project viewer who has Can edit space permissions cannot get access to build or edit charts because Viewers don't have access to the Explore view
  • an interactive viewer who is given Can edit space permissions can save content in that space but not in any other space (unless given edit access to another space)
  • an editor who is given Can view space permissions cannot edit the content in that space, but they can create/edit content in other parts of the project (unless they're given Can view access).

Adjusting space permissions

You can adjust an individual user's permissions, or the permissions of a group in a Space.

If a user is part of multiple groups that have been given access to the space, the user will inherit the highest level of access from their groups.

E.g. Priyanka is a Project Interactive Viewer. She is a member of the Finance group and the Design group. The Finance group is given Can View access to the space. The Design group is given Can Edit access to the space. Priyanka has Can Edit access to the space (inherited from the Design group).

You can override a user's group access by adjusting their specific user access.

E.g. Priyanka is a Project Interactive Viewer. She is a member of the Design group. The Design group is given Can Edit access to the space. I set Priyanka's user access in the space to be Can View. Priyanka has Can View access to the space (her assigned user access to the space overrides her group access).

Allowed email domains to join organization automatically

Organization admins can add allowed email domains to their organization settings so that anyone with those email domains can automatically join their organization (without explicitly inviting them).

To update your organization's allowed email domains setting, just go to the general organization settings.

In the allowed email domains panel, enter the email domains you want to be able to automatically join your organization (e.g. here, we've added lightdash.com). Generic email domains like google.com or hotmail.com are not accepted.

You can then select the access that you want these users to have, by default. The organization admin can always update a user's permissions after they've joined the organization!

If you want to add default permissions that are different across each project, you can select the organization role of organization member, then set the project access for each project.

Once you've selected the default roles for your allowed email domains, make sure to click update to save your changes.

Now, when a user tries to join Lightdash, they will be prompted to join your workspace if they have one of your allowed email domains.

Setting a Default Project

In the organization settings you can set a default project. This is the project users will see when they log in for the first time or from a new device. If a user does not have access, they will see their next accessible project.